Tragic loss for near extinct species

 

Yesterday this happenened:Image

These are the remains of an M7 bolt, essential for the union of a bicycle saddle to a bicycle. Tragically, this poor object fell in the line of duty in the early hours of yesterday morning, causing massive saddle collapse and near-impailment up the rider’s jacksie (I’m glad I wasn’t nude – not that I would have been, just saying).

Visits and phone calls to all the surrounding hardware and cycle shops have revealed that the meek M7 bolt is near-extinction, ousted by the far more voracious M6 and M8 bolts.

How old is my bike? 1 year and 1 week.

How long is my warrenty? Do I need to answer that?

This is a plea to save this poor little thing from being swept off the face of the Earth, because once they’re gone, that’s it they’re gone forever … until we make more of them (made to order in boxes of 100 – I need just 1 and maybe 1 more as backup).

Who the hell uses an obscure and perishable item in such an essential piece of kit? I mean, what does the M7 do that the M8, which, due to their greater size, have no natural predators, cannot?

Leave a Reply

