Top Ten All Time Favourite Books

Having done a few book tags now (go check those out), I’ve decided to compile a list of my current top ten books. This is a ‘live’ list, so may be updated from time to time as and when I read a book worthy of this list.
This list does not include graphic novels, that’s a list for another time.

Here goes:
10.

The first book of Matthew Reilly’s Shane ‘Scarecrow’ Schofield series. Reilly is a divisive author, often relegated to the ‘guilty-pleasure’ department at best. I’m not in the least bit guilty about enjoying his books for what they are – intense action stories riddled with over-the-top baddies, stunts and writing. I get what Reilly was trying to accomplish and enjoy them immensely. It follows a Special Forces unit as they battle it out over an Antarctic research station for the secrets it holds. Although I also love his other books, particularly the Great Zoo of China (Jurassic Park with dragons), Ice Station was the first book of his I read.

9.

One of my first forays into proper science fiction was with Bob Shaw. This tale follows a criminal, blinded during his arrest, as he constructs a special set of lenses that allows him to see through the eyes of those around him. A fun premise with a prison escape and adventure.
What makes it stand up above other similar adventures though was the final revelation regarding what he then achieved with his new vision.

8.

My most recent entry to this list, I read it last week. This book, I feel has a greater appeal to those who grew up in the 80s. As I was able to identify most of the pop-culture references in this Matrix style treasure hunt. I couldn’t put it down, and when I had to, I couldn’t stop thinking about it until I picked it up again.

7.

The second book of the top-notch time-travelling series by Alex Scarrow. The series follows a small team as they work to police time itself, stepping in when other time-travellers change the past. This time something is changed when dinosaurs were still strutting their stuff.

6.

From Terry Pratchett’s wonderfully satirical Discworld series. This was a difficult one to pin down, there’s not a duff book in the lot. In the end I chose this one (Soul Music came a very close second). This is the fifteenth book of the series and the sequel to Guards! Guards! It gives our ragtag bunch of policemen a new threat to investigate and a few new members of the watch. Featuring a dwarf, a werewolf, an honorary dwarf measuring over 6 foot, a troll and Nobby Nobs, disqualified from the human race for shoving.

5.

The first book of the Tale of the Ketty Jay series by Chris Wooding. Once again, the whole Fireflyesque series is excellent, and all four could have had this slot. One was chosen, the first one being the one, purely as it’s the first. Also the opening scene is unforgettable.

4.

Yet another book from an amazing series, the Expanse, again chosen for being the first. Best described as “like Game of Thrones, but in space…and good.” Book one follows a detective on the search for a missing person and an ice-hauler and his crew as they stumble from one disaster to the next. Epic stuff.

3.

This is the oldest book on my list. I shouldn’t have to tell you what it’s about. I absolutely loved the film when I saw it in the cinema. Had to get my hands on the novel and found it was even better. I think I spent about two years reading this over and over again. It had a permanent spot in my blazer pocket at school. When it fell apart, I managed to find the exact same copy in a charity shop. Last year I read it again for the first time in years, still brilliant.

2.

Harry Harrison is my second most read author after Terry Pratchett. So many excellent stories to choose from. However Jason dinAlt’s first adventure in Deathworld 1 is my favourite. Most other ‘inhospitable planets’ pale in comparison to the planet Pyrrus where every blade of grass is razor sharp and poisonous. Man against the elements, where the elements are determined to win. The following two books are okay but the first is definitely the winner.

1.

For the longest time the Watchers of the Dark, book 2 of the Jan Darzak series by Lloyd Biggle Junior was my all-time favourite book. Recently, I managed to get hold of the first book in the series. My liking of Watchers has not diminished but I liked this one even more. Earth private detective (and his secretary) are hired by an alien collective to find out what’s going wrong with the teleportation system. This inventive story left me with a big grin on my face which returns every time I think of this book.

That was fun. I would recommend you give making your own list a go, if you haven’t already.I know most of you will disagree with some or all of the above for your personal lists, that’s what makes lists like these fascinating.
If you do agree with any of the above, or would like to recommend a book to me that you think should be here, then do let me know in the comments.

If you want to know what my 10 least liked books are, then check out: Top ten all time despised books.

Feel free to check out the rest of my site, you might find something you like.

One thought on “Top Ten All Time Favourite Books

Leave a Reply

