Top Ten All Time Despised Books

If you came here from my Top Ten All Time Favourite Books, I do hope you’re having a good time, thanks for sticking around.
To everyone else, a really big welcome.

Having done a few book tags now (go check those out), and a top ten book list, I’ve decided to compile a list of my current worst ten books. This is a ‘live’ list, so may be updated from time to time as and when I read a book worthy of this list.
There are a number of books not here that you might be expecting to see. There’s a very good reason for that, I’ve probably not attempted to read them.
This list does not include graphic novels, that’s a list for another time.

Let’s get to it:

10.

What do you get with the novelization of a computer game that promised so much but delivered so little? Dross? I think I barely finished the first chapter before it went the way of DNF. Boring, incomprehensible and so badly written.

9. Great Expectations
What? This all-time classic, no way! You say. As far as I can work out, the prime function of school is to put its pupils off of things for the rest of their lives. Be it macaroni cheese, working as a team or a particular subject, topic or sport. In my case, my GCSE English Literature book forced upon me was this diabolical heap of drab and depressive misery. My mother even made me watch the 3 hour dramatization that spanned 2 VHS tapes. I was near suicidal by the end, if only for something for my brain to do. I’m proud to say this is also a DNF. I refused on principle to finish it, I never read the last few chapters. I still passed the exam.
I read books I want to read and begrudge being made to read something I didn’t choose. By all rights, this book would not be here as I would never have picked it up in the first place. I can’t even remember which cover it was.

8.

My limited experience of the Irish situation of the times was not enough to drive the import of this book home to me. I’m sure for those who have lived it, breathed it and studied it, this book is a soul-scrying experience of the times. For me, just as a story, it was bland, dull with poor characterisation. Finished the book feeling, nothing much at all which, for a book about terrorism, is not good.

7.

A certain film came out. Lots of people jumped up and down about it. I couldn’t care less and got on with my life. Later on, I came across 2 of Dan Brown’s books. Read Angels and Demons (before they did the film), and found it actually pretty good. So now, the big one, the one that had everyone hot under the collar…meh. Nothing compared to Angels and Demons, nothing compared to most other books. A bunch of nothing.

6.

Not read many courtroom dramas, so gave this one a go. Found the courtroom bit reasonably okay, on a par to what I’d seen with Mason on the telly. Then we had the big reveal and thriller style ending that was just so rushed and ridiculous that I’d lost all regard for this book.

5.

This is the only Alexandra Cooper book I’ve read so far, and maybe I should have started from the beginning, this is like book 10 or something. My main problem with this book was that I couldn’t get my head round why Cooper was in the situations she was in beyond just to fulfil the trope where the heroine gets attacked by the killer and gets to save the day.

4.

Why I was so determined to read Greg Bear’s book about Martian Colonists striving for independence from Earth, I do not know. I wasn’t going to give in, I wasn’t going to zzzzzzzzzz. Forget Nightowl. This beauty put my to sleep faster than a … a thing that puts you to sleep really fast. Took me forever to rea..ZZzzzzzz.
Was it worth it?
No. No it was not.

3.

The final and only Grant County book I have read. It read like walking through treacle (amazingly I checked out other reviews who phrased it exactly the same way). Once the slog was finally over, there’s that stupid ending.

2.

A book of utter drivel that made no sense and bored me to tears. I can’t say more about it as my brain seems to have hit the erase button on this one. Which should say a lot.

1.

This is by far the worst book I have ever read, it almost deserves a list for itself. It’s the only Martin Amis book I’ve read and will probably remain to be so. It was just sitting there, minding its own business, so I read it. I should have left that sleeping dog where it lay (see what I did there?). There is technically a plot, but it’s hidden behind the effluence of words and characters that are just plain awful. With so many good books out there, don’t waste time on this one.

That was…actually surprisingly difficult. If you feel that you’ve read enough bad books to make your own list, give it a go.
I know most of you will disagree with some or all of the above for your personal lists, that’s what makes lists like these fascinating.
If you do agree with any of the above then do let me know in the comments. Feel free to not recommend a book to me that you think should be here, I’m not on a quest for finding the worst ever book.

If you haven’t already, check out my Top Ten All Time Favourite Books.
Also have a peruse about the rest of my site, you might find something you like.

One thought on “Top Ten All Time Despised Books

Leave a Reply

