Book Tags – Unpopular Opinions

Been a while since my last book tag.
Time to get all controversial with the Unpopular Book tag.

Q: A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.
A: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I don’t know if it was because it was the given text for my GCSE English Lit or if it’s because the book is so depressingly dull that the only non-dull bits are depressing. It was required reading and I refused to finish it. My mum made me watch the 3-hour dramatisation (it was on 2 VHS tapes). I really don’t see what people get out of it. To this day it’s a DNF and I’m proud of that fact.

Q: A Popular Book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.
A: Not all that up to speed with the general consensus on such things, but I do know that the excellent Discworld series by Terry Pratchett is often looked down upon. I also appear to appreciate Matthew Reilly a lot more that most.

Q: A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.
A: I must confess that I only learned about what shipping is last year. I don’t think I read those sort of books. Either that, or I don’t invest in the characters to care. Usually the main reason why 2 people don’t end up together in the books I read is because one of them dies in some inventive and unexpected way.

Q: A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.
A: It wasn’t until I watched BBC’s Sorcerers, Sleuths and Spies brilliantly presented by Andrew Marr that I realised I’ve not read a single Spy book. Not sure how that happened. I know Alex Rider technically could count here but he’s more adventure thriller.

Q: A popular or beloved character that you do not like.
A: Again, I’m not exactly down with who the latest fictional celebrities are. This, coupled with keeping my answer within the range of books I’ve actually read, makes this a tricky one to answer. I suppose I don’t like Catniss Everdeen from the Hunger Games that much, apart from surviving and sulking, she’s not got many commendable qualities.

Q: A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.
A: Stephen King. Okay I’ve only read Pet Semetary, but I found it so drab and depressing that I’ve not got the gumption to read another of his book. Might try his Gunslinger series I’ve had my eye on for a few years now, but no rush to do so.

Q: A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)
A: The “can’t, won’t, don’t like” character regarding a particular thing ending up having to do or interact with the thing for the sake of saving the day and then ending up “liking, doing and willing” about the thing afterwards (unless this is done for humour, which works for me). Yes, I know stories usually contain some form of character arc leading to a moral tale in them, but it does seem to be that the moment that someone mentions that they hate the concept of tap dancing while juggling jelly, you know that they’ll be doing just that before too long and then go on to make a successful career out of it.

Q: A popular series that you have no interest in reading.
A: I could cheat and say things like Twilight and Fifty Shades and stuff like that, but I’m not exactly the target demographic for that flavour of tripe, so…His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman. If I want to be bored and depressed, I can always give Great Expectations another try…

Q: The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?
A: Jurassic Park 2: The Lost World. The movie was enjoyable enough but wasn’t all that great, but there was not much in the book to work with. The trailer scene was the only similar bit in both, and adapted well, I thought.

That was the Unpopular Opinions book tag.

Thanks for reading. Don’t forget to leave a comment, and if you would like to give this tag a go, I tag you.

Feel free to hang around my site where you’ll also find:
Reviews
Book tags
Current reading list
Books I’ve read
The Adventures of Frank (some daft humour sketches) written by me.

Leave a Reply

