Book Tags – The Fifty Bookish Questions

This is a big one so no time to preamble…
1. What was the last book you read?

Star Wars: Choices of One

2. Was it a good one?

Yes. You can’t go wrong with Timothy Zahn.

3. What made it good?

I enjoyed the duplicitous nature of the book that made me think one thing for a lot of it before revealing itself to be another. It was also great seeing the characters before the events of Heir to the Empire and how they don’t quite meet up (Luke and Mara Jade particularly).

4. Would you recommend it to other people?

If I knew they were a Star Wars fan with some knowledge of the Expanded Universe, yes. Otherwise, there’s a lot of established material that would be make if a poor read if you didn’t know that X was such-and-such and Y went on to do the thing.

5. How often do you read?

3-4 times a day.

6. Do you like to read?

Yes. It would be weird if I were doing this particular booktag and I didn’t.

7.What was the last bad book you read?

Romeo Spikes by Joanne Rea

8. What made you dislike it?

The blurb was misleading. It was boring and nonsensical. It kept setting up characters and then just killed them off. I didn’t care about the characters that survived. It was too long. The pay-off at the end wasn’t worth reading the rest of it.

9. Do you wish to be a writer?

Yes. Currently working on a series of short stories and have a couple of novels on the go too.

10. Has any book ever influenced you greatly?

Yes.

11. Do you read fan fiction?

No.

12. Do you write fan fiction?

No.

13. What’s your favourite book?

All the Colours of Darkness by Lloyd Biggle Junior.

14. What’s your least favourite book?

Great Expectations, so dull and depressing and boring I refused to finished it even though it was required reading for my English Literature GSCE.

15. Do you prefer physical books or ready on a device (like a kindle)?

PHYSICAL! I’ve yet to read anything larger than a novella on my Kindle.

16. When did you learn to read?

4 or 5 years old.

17. What is your favourite book you had to read in school?

The BFG, it was one I would have read anyway.

18. What is your favourite book series?

Discworld by Terry Pratchett

19. Who is your favourite author?

Terry Pratchett writer of the Discworld series.

20. What is your favourite genre?

Sci-Fi

21. Who is your favourite character in a book series?

Sam Vimes of the City Watch from the Discworld Series by Terry Pratchett.

22. Has a book ever transported you somewhere else?

That’s what good books do…

23.Which book do you wish had a sequel?

Tour Of The Universe. Let’s have another scrapbook featuring today’s sci-fi artists and with pull-outs and lift-the-flaps and other scrapbooky things.

24. Which book do you wish DIDN’T have a sequel?

Disappointed to hear Philip Pullman’s writing more for the Dark Materials series. I think that’s on a par with the sequels to Fifty Shades of Gray…and Fifty Shades of Gray.

25. How long does it take you to read a book?

1 day to 1 year. Depending on the book. Some books I’ll happily sit down and devour in a day (when I get the time to do so). A Song Of Ice and Fire Fridays however, sees me read a bit from that series during my lunch break, so that can take a while.

26. Do you like when books become movies?

Sort of. It’s nice to see what I’ve read, but often it’s a disappointment. Also what I’ve seen mostly overrides what I’ve visualised so a character I’ve pictured one way often becomes the actor. Not always though. I also lament the loss of the decent (or bad) book cover which stops being the distinctive artwork to being a movie poster regardless of how tenuous the movie is to the book.

27. Which book was ruined by its movie adaptation?

In a way I’d say most of them. The Lord of the Rings trilogy, for example, ruined the book by being far superior to it, making the book almost obsolete. Conversely, many movies butcher (or ruin) the book, but the book’s stronger because of it.

28. Which movie has done a book justice?

As already mentioned, the Lord of the Rings trilogy made a stuffy and difficult story approachable to all who like that sort of thing.

29. Do you read newspapers?

Nope, I’m allergic to newsprint. Seriously, it makes me feel dizzy. I made Papier Mâché with it once, almost collapsed.

30: Do you read magazines?

TableTop Gaming!!!

31. Do you prefer newspapers or magazines?

Look at my previous two answers, see if you can work it out for yourself.

32. Do you read while in bed?

Yes.

33. Do you read while on the toilet?

Guilty as charged.

34. Do you read while in the car?

I would if I wasn’t the designated driver of the family.

35. Do you read while in the bath?

No.

36. Are you a fast reader?

Yes.

37. Are you a slow reader?

Yes.

38. Where is your favourite place to read?

If I can read there, that’s the place for me.

39. Is it hard for you to concentrate while you read?

Nope. I turn off the universe.

40.Do you need a room to be silent while you read?

Nope. I turn off the universe.

41. Who gave you your love for reading?

My dad. He has several bookcases full of books. Many containing my first book love: Sci-Fi. Authors such as Bob Shaw, Harry Harrison, Jack Vance, Lloyd Biggle Junior, A. E. Van Vogt, John Wyndham, James Bliss, Robert A. Heinlein, Isacc Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke.

42. What book is next on your list to read?

Currently working on my book of the month – a book I must read before I’m allowed anything else. Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. For a more comprehensive answer check out my Currently Reading page.

43. When did you start to read chapter books?

5 or 6. Dick King-Smith books were my first, I believe. Particularly Magnus Powermouse, the Queen’s Nose, Daggie Dogfoot, the Sheep Pig and the Fox Busters.

44. Who is your favourite children’s book author?

Roald Dahl.

45. Which author would you most want to interview?

Terry Pratchett.

46. Which author do you think you’d be friends with?

Alex Scarrow.

47.What book have you reread the most?

Jurassic Park. I went through a period or reading it cover to cover over and over again. Currently the Discworld Series is on permanent reread, but I’ll have to reread them a lot to catch up with Jurassic Park.

48. Which books do you consider “classics”?

Books that snobby people get snobby about.

49. Which books do you think should be taught in every school?

Personally I hate being made to read something, which is why I will never join a reading group. I also believe that nothing ruins something more than it being taught in school.
My English teacher did the best thing ever for me which was to give me a list of suggested titles and try to read a few of over the summer. The Carpet People was on that list, hello Terry Pratchett. I cannot remember what else was on it, which suggested it would have been a pretty eclectic list most would have found something to appreciate.

50. Which books should be banned from all schools?

Don’t ban books! Nothing will get people wanting to read a book more than if you ban it. Instead ensure that there is a broader range of genres available. That’s not to say that schools should be careful to ensure that the material is age appropriate.

All done.
Like what you’ve read here? Tell me about it.
If you want to try this tag then go do just that.

Leave a Reply

