Book Tags – Mid year book freak out Tag 2017

Everyone seems to be doing this tag and I figured why the hell not.
I’m told this tag was originally done by ReadLikeWildfire and Earl Grey Books

For reference, here are the 70 books I’ve read so far this year:

Rereads New Reads
Ancestral Vices
Discworld: Pyramids
Discworld: Wyrd Sisters
Goosebumps: Monster Blood
Goosebumps: Say Cheese And Die!
Goosebumps: Stay Out Of The Basement
Goosebumps: The Scarecrow Walks At Midnight
Goosebumps: Welcome To Dead House
Green Eggs And Ham
Matilda
Star Wars: Darth Maul
Star Wars: Jedi Council: Acts Of War
Star Wars: Jedi Vs. Sith
Star Wars: Knights Of The Old Republic: Commencement
Star Wars: Knights Of The Old Republic: Days Of Fear, Nights Of Anger
Star Wars: Knights Of The Old Republic: Flashpoint
Star Wars: Republic: Outlander
Star Wars: Republic: Prelude To Rebellion
Star Wars: Republic: Rite Of Passage
Star Wars: Republic: The Hunt For Aurra Sing
Star Wars: Republic: Twilight
Star Wars: Tales Of The Jedi: Knights Of The Old Republic + The Freedon Nadd Uprising
Star Wars: Tales Of The Jedi: The Golden Age Of The Sith
Star Wars: Tales Of The Jedi: The Sith War
Star Wars: X-Wing: Isard’s Revenge
The BFG
The Stainless Steel Rat’s Revenge
The Walking Dead: Days Gone Bye
A Second Chance At Eden
A Song Of Ice And Fire: A Feast For Crows
Alex Rider: Snakehead
Aliens: Bug Hunt
Anita Blake: Guilty Pleasures
Buffy The Vampire Slayer: Coyote Moon
Darkness Comes
Deathmatch: A Thousand Cuts
Deathmatch: Killing In The Name
Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are?
Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase
Frogspell: Cauldron Spells
Frogspell: Icespell
Genius Factor: How To Outsmart A Billion Robot Bees
Gone: Fear
Goosebumps: Be Careful What You Wish For
Independence Day: Dark Fathom
Lo’Life: Romeo Spikes
Medusa’s Children
Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children
Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children: Hollow City
Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children: Library Of Souls
Orcs: First Blood: Bodyguard Of Lightning 298
Quantum Leap: Search And Rescue
Ready Player One
Republic: Darkness
Silo: Dust
Silver
Star Wars: Choices Of One
Star Wars: Knights Of The Old Republic: Daze Of Hate, Knights Of Suffering
Star Wars: Knights Of The Old Republic: Vindication
Star Wars: Rogue One
Star Wars: The Old Republic: Blood Of The Emprie
Stark
The Expanse: Babylon’s Ashes
The Long Earth: The Long Utopia
The True Meaning Of Smekday
The Walking Dead: Miles Behind Us
The Walking Dead: Safety Behind Bars
W.A.R.P.: The Hangman’s Revolution
War (And Peace) Memoirs: Mussolini: His Part In My Downfall
Wormwood: Tersias

Q1: The best book you’ve read so far this year:
A1: I’ve so enjoyed the Expanse series so far, and this one I had hotly anticipated and it did not let me down at all. I had high expectations for it (I know I shouldn’t) and it met every single one of them.

Q2: The best sequel you’ve read so far this year:
A2: Another reread, this was a brilliant follow-up to the origional Stainless Steel Rat by Harry Harrison. With a Sci-Fi setting this is a Spy/Crime/Adventure/Satire story that provides excellent entertainment.

Q3: A new release you haven’t read yet, but want to:
A3: The first one was so good it inspired me to write my first ever book review. Would have got my hands on a copy before the end of the month if only Bedford shops actually stocked a bloody copy!!! Had to order it and it’s my July book of the month.

Q4: The most anticipated release for the second half of the year:
A4: As already mentioned, Babylon’s Ashes was so good as is the whole series. Of course I’m counting down the days to the next instalment due towards the end of the year.

Q5: Your biggest disappointment:
A5: My wife had read a few of these and I even had a book list of the ones she didn’t have for me to pick up from charity shops, so when she asked me to read her the first book in the series, I figured it would be a good time. Even she admitted that she didn’t remember it being so boring. It did pick up towards the end, but there was so much dross in this book had I not been reading it to someone else, I would have given up on it.

Q6: Your biggest surprise:
A6: I have enjoyed Bob Shaw’s books in the past with Night Watch being one of my all-time favourite books so I picked this one up. Not knowing what I was getting in to I started it and very quickly became disillusioned and considered stopping. Thankfully, I kept with it and this book genuinely surprised me by how good it was.

Q7: Your favourite new author, either debut novel or new to you:
A7: Ransom Riggs. For three consecutive book of the months I read: , and . I enjoyed the story greatly but particularly appreciated the storytelling method of using old real-world photographs.

Q8: Your newest fictional crush:
A8: N/A. It’s just not worth cheating on Discworld’s Angua, she’ll tear my throat out!

Q9: Your newest favourite character:
A9: Clarrisa Mayo from . She’s not a new character having been in a couple of the previous books, but she’s really developed as a character and complement the books really well.

Q10: The book that made you cry:
A10: . I didn’t cry as such, by I did struggle reading certain parts out aloud and had to do lots of breathing.

Q11: A book that made you happy:
Q11:
I so very much enjoyed rereading this wonderful book by Terry Pratchett. There was a good deal of nostalgia for the last time I read it and the story itself is so brilliant and funny.

Q12: The best book to film adaptation:
A12: . This was a really good film. It’s based off of a comic book.

Q13: The most beautiful book bought/given to you:
Doesn’t it look pretty? I think it does, as does the whole series.

Q14: best review or video you’ve done so far@
A14: Not done too many of those so far (no videos) so it’s either my latest (and at the time of writing, only) book review or my latest monthly wrap-up. Each month my wrap-ups evolve and contain more content.

Q15: books you have to read by the end of the year
A15: I’ve no particular priorities for the year but I do want to get my two library books: and finished before the summer holidays, if I can.

And that was my first bash at the Mid-Year Book Freak-Out Tag.
If you liked it don’t forget to like, subscribe and comment. Check out my site for other Book Tag efforts and what books I’ve read and am reading.

Leave a Reply

